Return to ABOUT US


Sheepscombe School Governing Body

What we do: The purpose of governance is to provide confident, strategic leadership and to create robust accountability, oversight and assurance for educational and financial performance. The governing body in our school has a legal responsibility which can be summarised by three core statutory functions:

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  • Holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure money is well spent


Our Vision is to be the rural school of choice in the local area, where every child is inspired with a love of learning and is supported to become a confident and resilient lifelong learner. Our school is an inspirational setting where all children flourish.  We aim to

  • provide a broad and varied curriculum with opportunities for all children to develop a wide range of skills and interests alongside achieving the best possible progress over their time at the school
  • to be a learning community where teachers, support staff and governors continue to learn in order to create strong leadership, outstanding practice and attain national recognition for the realisation of this vision.


Our strategic priorities

The governors, in partnership with the school leadership, strive for excellence across the whole spectrum of school life.  Our strategic priorities are to ensure

  • A thriving village school under strong and dynamic leadership
  • An enriching curriculum where we work together to achieve the best
  • The creative use of resources to strengthen teaching and learning


Governor Meetings:  We meet at least every full term as a Full Governing Body (FGB) and have two committees. These are the Finance and Resources Committee (FRC), responsible for financial aspects of the school and the Teaching and Learning Committee (TLC) focusing on the curriculum and children’s attainment and progress.

Who are we?  The Full Governing Body is representative of the staff, the local authority, parents and members of the community.  Our diverse backgrounds give us a wide range of experiences and views, enabling us to make informed decisions about the school collectively.  We welcome and value feedback from parents so please do come and speak to us at school events or we can be contacted via the school office.   and

Elisabeth Skinner and Lynsey Willis have been Co-Chairs of Governors since September 2017.  We are both experienced teachers who live in the village.  Lynsey spent much of her career teaching at Field Court in Quedgeley.  She is an EYFS/KS1 specialist and focuses as a governor on keeping the children safe.  Elisabeth has several lifelong connections with the school including experience as pupil, parent and teacher and has been teaching in higher education since 1989.  The Governors are:

Vicky Barron Staff Governor Head Teacher
Elisabeth Skinner Co-opted Governor Co-Chair of Governors
Lynsey Willis Co-opted Governor Co-Chair of Governors
Seth Johnson Parent Governor
Tracey Lane Staff Governor
Tessa Lentel LA Governor
Matt Stanway Parent Governor
Debby Thacker Co-opted Governor Chair of the TLC
Chloe Turner Co-opted Governor Chair of the FRC
Maxine Godfrey Clerk to Governors


For more detail please click on the documents below:

Governor Appointments Responsibilities and Interests

Governors report 2018

Governors’ report 2019

Governors’ report 2020

For details of meeting attendance and past governors see below

Meeting Attendance

Please Click on Full Governor Board Attendance 2020-21

Please Click on  Full Governor Board Attendance 2019-20

Past Governors which we thank for their hard work and support

  • Tara Murphy – Parent Governor until July 2018
  • Heather Pilkington – Co-head until July 2018
  • Mark Tallents – Chair of Governors until July 2017, Co-opted Governor until December 2017
  • Zoe Gillan – Parent Governor until Spring 2017
  • Emily Booth – Parent Governor until July 2016.
  • Sara Bennion – Head Teacher until Spring 2016